At church, one of the ways I serve is as lector.

Lectors read Holy Scripture to the congregation during that part of the Catholic Mass, called the Liturgy of the Word.

Liturgy means worship and that is what takes place during the Catholic Mass.

The other rite of worship during the Catholic Mass, is called the Liturgy of the Eucharist, where the Eucharist is the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ.

I must confess that I think I know how proto-Protestant Martin Luther felt when he made his pilgrimage to Rome only to find that at the highest levels of the Church hierarchy, Christian worship had devolved into droning, boring pomp and circumstance.

For today in nearly every Catholic Church, the lector does nothing more than drone out before the congregation, in the most boring way, the Word of God, also known as Holy Scripture (the Bible).

The priest and alter servers just sort of snooze through the whole thing until the lector finishes and it is their turn to start moving again. And each person in the congregation daydreams about whatever issue is most worrisome at that particular moment.

Nevertheless, when I am at Mass, I can fulfill my nature as man and be in a state of prayer.

That is how I lector.  I don’t read Holy Scripture, I pray the Holy Scripture.

And prayer takes lots and lots and lots of practice; in my case, decades of practice, practice, practice.

What is the pay off?

I got the pay off a few days ago after I had prayed out God presenting to mankind, The Ten Commandments, from the Book of Exodus.

Another lector told me that during my presentation, it was like hearing God present the Commandments to mankind for the very first time!

When someone tells you, you sound like God, where do you go from there?

speak-no-evil-1601300

Personally, I don’t know.

But I have taken to silence of mouth and mind in trepidation and fear lest I misuse my mouth as a gong of hellish racket instead of a joyful harp and trumpet.

I am seeing in my own body that there is something glorious afoot in the being of man.

